Personal Testimony – Liz.

This is the personal testimony of a lady who spoke to 100 ladies at a Beautiful Womens Night organized by Enniscorthy Christian Fellowship.

Hi Ladies,

I’d like to welcome you all here tonight.  Liz is my name and I am privileged to have the opportunity to share my story with you all.

Here is my story.

I was brought up as a catholic and all the family went to mass every Sunday.  We lived a normal life and we were good neighbours and lived good lives and thought that was enough to get us into heaven.  I was to find out later in my life that this was not the way to be saved.

My husband and three children and I lived normal everyday lives in Dublin and moved back home to a mile outside the town in 1998.  In 2000 during the Fleadh Cheoil as my family and I walked about the town enjoying the festival I saw a sign over the credit union, which said, “Jesus in the Millennium”.  I told the family I was going in to see what that was all about.  My family tried to put me off but I felt drawn to call in.  I met Andrew and Lorna (the Enniscorthy Christian Fellowship leader and his wife), I also met John and Linda, another couple from the church.  They chatted about Jesus. They did not preach to me or ask me to join their church.  They were ordinary people and they were to become a very important part of my life. (My friends in Enniscorthy Christian Fellowship have heard this story so often that they are surely yawning now.  J)

Time passed, about a year and I had no involvement with anyone from this church.  A friend of mine invited me to come along to a ladies bible study in Lorna’s house.  I went along not knowing what to expect.  After a few weeks I began to look at Jesus with a new heart. In case you think we just arrived and studied a part of the bible and then went home, that was not the case.  On arrival we chatted and shared stories, always with a mug of tea or coffee.  We did little stories from the bible, which at first I wasn’t always able to follow as I never read the bible before.  As time went by I became more aware and familiar with the bible and wanted to know more.

One of my favourite studies was when Jesus visited Mary and Martha.  Martha rushed about cooking and fussing.  Mary sat at the feet of Jesus and listened to his stories.  Which do you think you are?  I was certainly Martha but now I am trying to be more like Mary.

As time went by Jesus became a really big part of my everyday life.  I wanted to know more and more. So now I read a little of my bible everyday with the help of two little books.  One is called “Daily Bread” and the other is called “My Upper Room” .

I have had a difficult time in the last few years.  Both my Mum and Dad passed away.  I became very ill with Cancer but throughout this time I felt God’s presence.

When I was going through very bad days and could do nothing for myself, not even look at the telly, phone people or answer the phone.  I could not even do my little bible stories so all I did was lie in my bed with my hand on the bible.  My husband and family were all so very good to me as were my friends who would come to visit and pray with me.   I finished all my treatment in July and thank God for so many blessings.

Now I also go to church on Sunday with the Enniscorthy Christian Fellowship, I am so blessed to be a part of this church.  Everyone is so supportive of each other and we all follow Jesus with a passion.

I was once afraid of what people might say or think of me but now I have handed over my life and let God be in charge.

Thank you for coming along here tonight and listening to my story.  I do hope you enjoy the rest of the evening.  If you want to hear more or get some information about the church please come and ask any of the ladies in the church, they will be the ladies keeping themselves very busy J  If you would like to ask me anything I will be happy to share with you.  Just ask any of the ladies and they will point me out.

Liz.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving present your requests to God.  (Philippians 4:6 NIV)

And the Peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

One thought on “Personal Testimony – Liz.

  1. Beautiful testimony. Thank you for sharing…

    Care to stop by for some Cofee with Jesus?!

    ~ NRIGirl

Leave a Reply

